5 Ways to Increase your Willpower

I finally got up the courage to join a gym this weekend!  A real live gym…not like the faux gym I have set up in my house.  There’s nothing wrong with a home gym setup, but I’m so close to the finish line and felt like I had to up my game to get there…so YouFit Health Club is my new home away from home. 

Gotta say – I’m in a lot of pain, but it’s so worth it to know that my body is being pushed to the next level.

In order to keep up and work through the pain with no excuses, I thought I’d share these 5 ways to increase your willpower, by Stephanie Booth.

  1. Eat a turkey sandwich.  We spend 4 hours each day actively resisting things we desire.  For example:  every time we refuse to succumb to washing the dishes before watching TV, our bodies draw on our store of glucose, which carries energy to the muscles and brain.  When our glucose levels get low, our willpower weakens.  To keep it high, eat regular meals that are full of protein and good carbs, like a sandwich of meat and cheese packed between 2 slices of whole-wheat bread.  And NEVER start a challenging task on an empty stomach (including workouts).
  2. Anticipate Roadblocks.  When you start pursuing a goal, consider what might interfere with your plans and make a backup plan.
  3. Do the opposite of what you normally do.  Anytime you modify your routine, you’re developing self-control.
  4. Choose a reward in advance.  When changing your behavior (like trying to workout every day), pick something that you’ll treat yourself to once you’ve accomplished your goal.  It could be months before you enjoy exercise on it’s own merits – so in the meantime, eat that piece of dark chocolate or relax on the couch for 30 minutes as a reward.  It’ll keep you motivated to reach the finale.
  5. Chill.  Don’t beat yourself up – it doesn’t help you stick to your diet.  In fact, you may have even made the situation worse!  Instead, ask yourself this:  When am I likely to err again and how will I prevent that from happening?  Once you’ve figured out how to avoid the problem in the future, let it go.

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. towardshealthylife
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 21:17:45

    I have made a goal and reward page to help with motivation 🙂

    Reply

  2. christinarussell
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 21:27:16

    Awesome! What’s the reward you’re looking forward to the most?

    Reply

  3. towardshealthylife
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 02:01:17

    I guess it would be walking in a normal size clothes shop and grabing something I like and finding out that it actually fit me for once! loll Can’t wait for that moment

    Reply

  4. christinarussell
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 12:25:38

    lol – That’s a great one!

    Reply

  5. liz a
    Jan 14, 2012 @ 20:48:10

    I definitely need help with will power. But I have stayed on track for 3 weeks. I am trying my best to make it a habit.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

