Reality check

Today I looked through my closet for something to wear and realized that I only had two sizes of clothing:  maternity and pre-pregnancy.  So, I decided to take a ride to retail land and get some clothes that actually fit.  Well, I’m not sure if this just happens with women, but anytime we go clothes shopping we always seem to find something wrong with our bodies.  Go ahead and multiply that feeling times 100 and that’s how it feels to go shopping while overweight!

Needless to say, it was a bit difficult for me to handle.  Now that I know my ‘real’ size, the reality has really sunk in.  Yes, I’m dieting and the pounds are coming off…but it doesn’t change the fact that I’m still fat.  😦  So, I bought one pair of jeans, one pair of capris (there will be no showing of any leg above the knee for quite some time) and a couple shirts.  HOPEFULLY my new 5 piece wardrobe will be short-lived and I can get into something that is not pushing the ‘plus’ sizes…until then…maybe I should invest in a fun-house mirror! 🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cathy
    Mar 18, 2011 @ 05:44:16

    Ms. Christina!
    *Totally* totally get where you were at in your head with this, I’m sure any woman could relate. I’ve struggled with this fairly recently myself, but clothes that fit are a blessing for you, your mind, and your body. If you’re still forcing too-small clothes onto you then the constant “fat-talk” will not stop because you’ll always be feeling the squeeze of your clothes. If you’re swallowed up by your maternity clothes it feels like trying to hide amidst a sea of extra fabric that really only adds bulk where you need it least.

    New clothes that fit are a gift for you! I’m so glad you went out and got some and I hope they help you to feel better as you continue to work back into those skinny jeans! You will get there, I have faith in you!

    Have a great weekend 🙂

    Reply

  2. Charlie
    Mar 20, 2011 @ 19:16:11

    You can do iiiiiiit!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

